Morning Meditation and Yoga

Getting up in the morning can honestly be one of the most difficult things you can do for the day. You are exhausted from the night before and just wish it was the weekend already so you can sleep in and actually feel alive.

I know its tough, and believe me, I struggle with getting enough sleep too, but I can feel myself improving each and every day since I started to participate in meditation and yoga.

Each morning, I push myself to get up 5-10 minutes earlier than I usually do, to roll out my yoga mat, put on some calming music or guided meditation, and simply just sit and breathe.

Breathing exercises are an incredible benefit for not only your body, but for your mind as well. It can make you more productive during the day, and can help maintain positive energy.

While I am breathing, I think about my flow of breath, and how I will be my best self for the day ahead of me. I positively convince myself that today will be great, happy, and productive. I only have control of myself, and none for those around me. I will focus on what makes me happy and how to improve my life, as well as how I can help others.

This type of thinking has helped me so much with my anxiety and depression. I have gone through a lot over my lifetime, and it has lead me through some pretty dark paths. However, as soon as I put in the effort to think positively and shove all the negativity out of my life, my mood, mind, and soul drastically improved.

Along with breathing and thinking positively, I further recommend that you stretch out into yoga moves so you feel more awake and energized.

Although it may not feel like exercise, yoga helps build strength throughout the body and can increase your energy so that you can do more physically demanding things whether it be at work or in the gym.

I know it may feel ridiculous to participate in these type of activities, but I am telling you, it helps.

It helps your mind clear all the crap from college and what not, and make room for positivity and productiveness.

It has changed my life for the better, and has made me more successful in my academics as well as in my social life.

Wake up, meditate, and do yoga for you and your happiness! And remember…

Stay fit and stay in school.

Ciao!

~FitbyAlexandra~

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

